Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Cello Trilogy of Time: electroacoustic piece for cello and electronics

Cello Trilogy of Time: electroacoustic piece for cello and electronics                         

“Cello Trilogy of Time” is my first ever electro acoustic composition. It consists of 3 movements that embody characteristics in the human perception of time. The first one, “Forgetting”, represents a thing that haunts me. We try so hard to forget things and then we get mad and frustrated when we realize that it’s something that will always be with us. The second movement is “Remembering”, which happens after I forget of an event in my life. It can be melancholic to remember the past and it can also make you happy. Remembering is a time of longing. The third movement is called “Now” because after we live in the past and think that the future will never be the same, we realize that we need to live in the present, even when remembering and forgetting makes you itch.

The "Forgetting" Movement is featured in the video below

La Región más †ransparente from Arte Susana on Vimeo.

Below is a video of a live performance by Kathryn Bates Williams (from Del Sol String Quartet) of the Cello Trilogy of Time.

No comments:

Post a Comment